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. . Q. What is the minimum wage in Oregon?
On-site Training A. Effective January 1, 2008, the Oregon minimum wage increases by 15 cents to $7.95
Publications per hour. ORS 653.025.

FAQs and Fact Sheets This increase is a result of the passage of Ballot Measure 25, approved by Oregon voters
on November 5, 2002. The minimum wage had been at $6.50 per hour since January 1,

Employer Advice 1999, but Measure 25 raised the wage to $6.90 effective January 1, 2003 and also
Columns provided for annual indexing for calendar year 2004 and beyond.
Govt Agency Contact Measure 25 requires the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries to calculate
List an annual adjustment to the minimum wage each September for the following calendar

. year. The annual adjustment is based on any increase during the previous 12 months in
Required Posters the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for All Items.

Administrative Rules Under the new law, the minimum wage is to be rounded to the nearest five cents and to

Oregon Revised take effect on January 1 of the year followin&ea\(‘f\@djustmoeﬂto
k]

Statutes _ @) _
Last year”s 1.97 percent |n§rle Q‘ﬁ)lh consu r%@e index from August, 2006 to

Related Links August, 2007 translates, in nimurrw'\@ﬁ crease of 15 cents for 2008.
p\e%‘ e OO
Q.d_W t@\ﬂ‘g\ ecljalmmﬂ% m wage?
. he turr inimum wage is $5.85 per hour.
CeO™ e A®

N@ @%&hlch minimum wage am | required to pay my employee -- the state or
e federal?
A. When federal and state employment laws conflict, employers must apply whichever
standard is most beneficial to the employee. Therefore, Oregon employers must pay the
higher state minimum wage.

Q. How much has the minimum wage increased in recent years?
A. A recent minimum wage history:

Federal State

01/01/81 $3.35 01/01/81 $3.10
-—-- -—-- 01/01/86 $3.35
-—- -—- 09/01/89 $3.85

04/01/90 $3.80 01/01/90 $4.25

04/01/91 $4.25 01/01/91 $4.75

10/01/96 $4.75 ——— —_—-

09/01/97 $5.15 01/01/97 $5.50
———- ———- 01/01/98 $6.00
-—-- -—-- 01/01/99 $6.50
-—-- -—-- 01/01/03 $6.90
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—_— _— 01/01/04 $7.05
—_— — 01/01/05 $7.25
— -— 01/01/06 $7.50
07/24/07 $5.85 01/01/07 $7.80
07/24/08 $6.55 01/01/08 $7.95

Q. Can 1 pay my new employees a training wage which is below the minimum
wage?

A. No. Unlike federal law, Oregon law requires that employees receive at least minimum
wage during all stages of employment. This includes any period of on-the-job training.

Q. Can 1 count an employee”s tips against the minimum wage?
A. No. Oregon law does not allow for tip credits. ORS 653.035(3).

Q. If 1 hire minors, do I need to pay them minimum wage?
A. Yes. The minimum wage laws apply to minors.

Q. | provide meals and lodging for my employee. Can | count the fair market
value of the meals and lodging towards the minimum wage obligation?

A. Yes, if the meals and lodging are provided for the private benefit of the employee.
However, if you require your employee to live on-site, or if you derive a mutual benefit
from the employee living on the premises, you must pay minimum wage in addition to
the value of meals and lodging. OAR 839-020-0025.

Q. 1 paid my employee $7.90 per hour in 2007 (10 cents above the minimum
wage). He claims | am legally obligated to pay him at least $8.05 per hour
(again, 10 cents above the minimum wage) as of January 1, 2008. Is that right?
A. No. The law only requires you to pay the minimum wage of $7.95 per hour as of
January 1, 2008, unless you have a contract or Ve\ley providingbotherwise.

Q. If my pay period cuts acrosalge\bl&gr’ O@g@pag'r\]uary 2008, which
minimum wage applies OO "G

A. The 2007 mir\‘ig“gn\iva of&? WM% for all hours worked during December, and
the 2008@“@6\1 ag @e plies for all hours worked during January -- without

regard toyour tiewtdr, \pely period or pay date.
AP R

e

G Q. Q{%f%g)my employee on a commission, does the minimum wage law still

N@pp ?
A. Yes. Unless your employee falls into an exempt category, you must pay the employee
at least minimum wage for all hours actually worked. This means that even with a
commissioned employee, you must track all daily and weekly hours worked to determine
whether the average hourly rate meets the minimum wage. If the average hourly rate is
less than the minimum wage in any pay period, you must boost the employee”s wages
up to the minimum wage.

Q. My employee, who normally earns $9.00 per hour, travels as part of her job
duties. Can | pay her at a lower hourly rate for the travel time?
A. Yes, as long as you pay at least the minimum wage for each hour worked.

The Technical Assistance for Employers unit offers employer seminars, handbooks, and
other materials covering a number of topics. For additional information, visit our website
at www.oregon.gov/boli/ta or call our Employer Assistance line.

Technical Assistance for Employers
Bureau of Labor and Industries
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 1045
Portland , OR 97232
971-673-0824

www.oregon.gov/boli

These materials were prepared as a general summary and teaching guide. The mission of
the Technical Assistance for Employers Program is to promote compliance with civil rights
and wage and hour laws through education. Technical Assistance does not provide legal
advice. In order to determine the legality of any matter or to protect your legal rights,
you should contact an attorney. Check the yellow pages of your telephone directory or
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contact the Oregon State Bar Lawyer Referral Service at 1-503-620-0222 or 1-800-452-
7636. THIS INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE IN AN ALTERNATE FORMAT.
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