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General Information

There are three types of advanced practice nurse in Oregon:
Nurse Practitioner, Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, and
Clinical Nurse Specialist. There are 10 nurse practitioner
specialties: adult; acute; women's health care; geriatric; pediatric;
college health; psychiatric mental health; family; neonatal, and
nurse midwife.

Generally, you are eligible for Nurse Practitioner and CNS certification if you are a currently licensed
RN in Oregon, have a Master's Degree in Nursing, and have graduated from an appropriate specialty
program. CRNAs educated after Jan. 1, 2001, also must have a Master's Degree. Specifically, you
must meet the OSBN's education, practice and legal requirements for each type. (Refer to the Oregon
Nurse Practice Act and Administrative Rules http://www.oregon.gov/OSBN/adminrules.shtml.)

o Back to the top

Nurse Practitioner | SeC NS

e\

e You must hold a cur, gn@ﬁ @r?gncumbered Oregon RN license.

e You must g\"@?‘éo uated from an accredited Master's Degree nursing program. (You will need
to arrange tor your official transcript to be sent to us--see the NP Application Packet for
détails.)

e You must have:

o graduated from a nurse practitioner program specific to the NP category you are
seeking within the last year; or,

o graduated from a nurse practitioner program specific to the NP category you are
seeking & practiced as a nurse practitioner at least 192 hours within the last two years;
or,

o practiced a minimum of 960 hours as a nurse practitioner within the last five years.

e All initial NP applicants must provide documentation of a minimum of 384 hours of RN practice,
which includes assessment and management of clients and is not completed as an academic
clinical requirement or continuing education program. This requirement is waived for
individuals practicing in the specialty area as a licensed certified nurse practitioner in another
state for at least 384 hours in the advanced practice role.

e The practice requirement allows for advanced nursing practice in a teaching, research,
consulting or supervisory role in addition to direct practice.

Clinical Nurse Specialist

e You must hold a current, unencumbered Oregon RN license.

e You must have graduated from a National League for Nursing or Commission on Collegiate
Nursing Education-accredited master's degree nursing program. (You will need to arrange for
your official transcript to be sent to us--see the CNS Application Packet for details.) Until Oct. 1,
2005, a master's degree in a non-nursing clinical specialty may meet requirements.

e You must have graduated from an accredited CNS program in the last five years, or practiced a
minimum of 960 hours in a RN/CNS scope of practice during the last five years to meet the
practice requirement.

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist

e You must hold a current, unencumbered Oregon RN license.

e You must have graduated from an accredited nurse anesthetist program. (You will need to
arrange for your official transcript to be sent to us--see the CRNA Application Packet for
details.)

e You must hold a current national certification from the American Association of Nurse
Anesthetists.

e You must meet the practice requirement of:

o graduation within the last two years, or
o practiced 850 hours or more as a CRNA (outside Oregon) within the last two years.
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Fees & Refund Policy

Fees for Initial Advanced Practice Licensure

e Nurse Practitioner: $225 ($150/application & $75 prescriptive authority fee).

e Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist: $150
e Clinical Nurse Specialist: $225 ($150/application & $75 prescriptive authority fee).

Advanced Practice Licensure Renewal Fees

Nurse Practitioner: $300 (with prescriptive authority)

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthestist (CRNA): $200

Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS): $220 (without prescriptive authority)
Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS): $300 (with prescriptive authority)

Effective January 1, 2010, NP and CNS Prescriptive Privilege renewal and reactivation
fees include a $50 biennial fee for the Electronic Prescription Monitoring fund established
by Oregon Senate Bill 355.

If you need to renew your license, you may do so online (click here).

Refund Policy

Fees submitted as part of the application process are not refundable, per ORS 678.410(2). Be
certain that you intend to complete the process before submitting your payment. If you have any
questions regarding your eligibility, please call our Customer Service Center at 971-673-0685.

If an error has been made in your payment, contact OSBN Information: 971-673-0685, or e-mail
oregon.bn.info@state.or.us to request a review of your account. Allow 10 working days for the refund
to be processed as a credit to your credit card account.
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Renewal Information

When will my license/certificate expire?
Nursing licenses and certificates are good for two years and expire at midnight on your birthday--in
even years if you were born in an even year, or in odd years if you were born in an odd year.

You should receive a renewal notice from the OSBN approximately six-to-eight weeks before your
license expires, assuming you have kept your mailing address up-to-date with the OSBN office. Failure
to receive this courtesy notice in the mail, however, does not relieve you of your responsibility to
maintain a current license.

3,20\
Advanced Practice Renewal Requirements pet
Advanced practice nurses also must hold a current RN license. Keep in @mﬂﬁﬂ\é% advanced practice
hours count toward RN practice hours for renewal, but RN prac)ﬂcgdm‘tﬁ‘s do not count toward
advanced practice renewal. o \0,3573
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e Practice Requiremsﬂ@x of S0

o Pr Qme\\aé a NP for a minimum of 960 hours during the last five years; or

or ‘Graduate from a NP education program within the past year; or

o Graduate from a NP education program and practice as a NP at least 192 hours within
the last two years.

e Continuing education: Complete 100 hours of continuing education within the past two years
prior to renewal date. For new graduates (graduated within the past two years), the hours are
prorated based on the length of time between graduation and the first renewal.

TaM

Clinical Nurse Specialist:

e Practice as a CNS for no less than 960 hours within the past five years prior to renewal, or
have completed a re-entry program.
e Complete 40 hours of continuing education during the past two years prior to renewal.

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA):

e Practice as a CRNA for a minimum of 850 hours within the past two years or graduate from a
nurse anesthesia educational program within the past two years.

e Hold current certification from the Council on Certification or Council of Recertification of Nurse
Anesthetists.

e Complete 40 hours of continuing education approved by the AANA during the past two years
prior to renewal. For new graduates (graduated within the past two years), the hours are
prorated based on the length of time between graduation and the first renewal.
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Background Checks

The OSBN conducts a criminal records check through the Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS) on
every application. A national fingerprint-based criminal records check is required for all Exam,
Endorsement, and Reactivation applicants, and for late Renewals that are 61 or more days past
expiration date. You are required to work with an OSBN investigator/advisor if you have a criminal
record. Providing details of your criminal history (if any) or previous disciplinary actions taken against
your license or certificate by another state "s Board of Nursing (if any) is part of the application
process and must be completed before your license will be issued. Some individuals may be denied
licensure based on their criminal or disciplinary histories.

Click here to view Frequently Asked Questions about fingerprinting.
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