United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT



Investiture Of

RYAN D. NELSON



Friday, March 29, 2019 3:00 p.m.

The Waterfront at Snake River Landing 1220 Event Center Drive Idaho Falls, Idaho

Presiding

Chief Judge Emeritus J. Clifford Wallace United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Opening of Session Robert M. Walch, Senior Deputy Clerk of Court United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Master of Ceremonies

Judge N. Randy Smith United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Presentation of Colors

Idaho Falls Firefighters Pipes and Drums

National Anthem

McKenna Fuhriman

Pledge of Allegiance

Tim Hopkins, Senior Partner, Hopkins Roden Former Chairman, ABA Standing Committee on the Federal Judiciary

Invocation

David Manson, Executive Director Community Food Basket Idaho Falls and Idaho Falls Soup Kitchen

Remarks

Chief Judge Emeritus J. Clifford Wallace

The Honorable Brad Little *Governor, State of Idaho*

Robert Luther III, Antonin Scalia Law School Former Associate White House Counsel

Associate Chief Justice Thomas Rex Lee Utah Supreme Court

Reading of Letter from the President

Joseph Clark Special Assistant to the President and Associate White House Counsel

Reading of the Presidential Commission

Jeffrey Beelaert Department of Justice

Administration of the Oath

Judge Thomas B. Griffith United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

Holding of the Anson Call Family Bible

Mrs. Barbara Baer Nelson

Assisting with the Robe

Mr. Douglas R. and Mrs. Billie Call Nelson

Response

Judge Ryan D. Nelson United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

> **Closing Remarks** Judge N. Randy Smith



Reception Following at The Waterfront Serving Farr's ice cream

Special thanks to the Idaho Chapter of the Federal Bar Association

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Sidney R. Thomas, Chief Judge

Alfred T. Goodwin I. Clifford Wallace Procter Hug, Jr. Mary M. Schroeder Jerome Farris Dorothy W. Nelson William C. Canby, Jr. Diarmuid F. O'Scannlain Edward Leavy Stephen S. Trott Ferdinand F. Fernandez Andrew J. Kleinfeld Michael Daly Hawkins A. Wallace Tashima Barry G. Silverman Susan P. Graber M. Margaret McKeown Kim McLane Wardlaw William A. Fletcher Raymond C. Fisher Ronald M. Gould

Richard A. Paez Marsha S. Berzon Richard C. Tallman **Johnnie B. Rawlinson** Richard R. Clifton Jay S. Bybee Consuelo M. Callahan Carlos T. Bea Milan D. Smith, Jr. Sandra S. Ikuta N. Randy Smith Mary H. Murguia Morgan B. Christen Jacqueline H. Nguyen Paul J. Watford Andrew D. Hurwitz John B. Owens Michelle T. Friedland Mark J. Bennett Ryan D. Nelson Eric D. Miller